Stevie Smith Bibliography


Novel on Yellow Paper (published 1936)
Over the Frontier (1938)
The Holiday (1949)

Poetry collections

A Good Time was Had by All (1937)
Tender Only to One (1938)
Mother, What Is Man? (1942)
Harold’s Leap (1950)
Not Waving but Drowning (1957)
Selected Poems [inc 17 previously unpublished] (1962)
Frog Prince [inc 69 previously unpublished] (1966)
Two in One (1971) reprint of Selected Poems and The Frog Prince Scorpion and Other Poems (1972)
The Collected Poems of Stevie Smith (1975)
Selected Poems (1978)


A Turn Outside (1959)


Some Are More Human Than Others (1958)
Cats in Colour (collection of photographs and captions) (1959)
Me Again: Uncollected Writings of Stevie Smith (1984)

Books about Stevie Smith

Barbera, Jack and McBrien Stevie: A Biography of Stevie Smith (Heinemann, 1985)
Spalding, Frances Stevie Smith: A Critical Biography (Faber, 1988)
Sternlicht, Sanford In Search of Stevie Smith (Syracuse University Press, 1991)

See also

A brief biography of Stevie Smith and details of related collections held at the History Centre.